A simple thank you from us

Katie and Rob would like to thank our wonderful clients for taking the time to write a review on our service.

 

We have one simple aim, to offer an exceptional funeral service at an affordable cost to bereaved families in Torbay.

AdobeStock_285484531.jpeg

Why we are different

We want to make sure we are giving our families the very best service we can so we actively ask for feedback and clearly display their comments on our website. 

 

You can find our reviews on Funeral Guide, Google, Yell and our Facebook Page.

Our reviews on Funeral Guide

Verified Reviews 

  •  5 Star Review Peter Bryant 4th Sep 2021

    By definition, when someone seeks the services of a funeral director it means they are going through possibly the worst moments of their lives. Thank goodness I chose Katie Mills Independent Funeral Service. I have had many good services given to me over many years but I cannot recall a better service than that of Katie and Rob. They always took the time to listen to stories that I had to tell about my dear departed friend and always showed an interest. I was kept informed of every step that was about to take place, there was compassion, understanding and empathy from start to finish, plus of course the obligatory cup of coffee!! I really cannot thank them enough for everything that they did for me and of course the dignified manner in which they looked after my dear friend. Thank you Katie Mills and Rob. Peter Bryant

  •  5 Star Review Heidi Richards 26th Aug 2021

    Katie and Rob were fabulous from the very beginning and are still helping us now even after the funeral. They were kind and compassionate throughout and I feel that they went above and beyond normal procedures to ensure that my husbands funeral went to plan and in style. Although people do not want to wish their lives away-they were very impressed at the service Katie and Rob provided and took note for future reference. I would not hesitate in recommending their services.

  •  5 Star Review Anna Reynolds 20th Aug 2021

    Couldn’t fault their service. Caring and efficient. Will definitely recommend 

  •  5 Star Review Nick Thompson 18th Aug 2021

    Katie and Rob did everything possible to help us.I was at the other end of the country and didn’t have to worry about anything it was all perfect. The day itself was just so professionally executed  with everything as we wanted it. A real big thank you.

  •  5 Star Review Patricia Borrett 7th Aug 2021

    Katie ,Rob and all the staff dealt with David's Preparations and Funeral in such a Compassionate, Professional and Personal manner.I was consulted and comforted at every step of the process.I can never thank them enough and will definitely be recommending them to all my friends.Godbless you all xxxx

  •  5 Star Review Brian Jervis 27th Jul 2021

    Katie and Rob could not have been more helpful and compassionate. They both understood what our family wanted for my sister and kept us informed at every stage of the arrangements. I cannot thank them enough for the support they provided at a very difficult time for us. Anyone looking for a professional and caring service then I would highly recommend.

  •  5 Star Review Pete Millea 27th Jul 2021

    I cannot thank Katie an Rob enough. They are caring, compassionate and so so helpful. I really don't know how I would have managed without them.

  •  5 Star Review Fiona Marston 6th Jul 2021

    They did everything very good, and heaped me and guided me with everything. Making the occasion go perfectly stress free for me

  •  5 Star Review Lynda King 17th May 2021

    Katie Mills & her Husband went above and beyond to make everything at the funeral of our dear loved one the best farewell ever. They are lovely people who are kind  dignified and truly passionate about making the most profoundly saddest of  times easier to deal with. Your not rushed into choices ,Katie  helps you with her gentle manner, and will try and source anything  required to make your loved ones farewell service special. Katie Mills Funeral  services offer the old fashioned personal touch from the moment you make the call , absolutely excellent so glad we came to you. Thank you . L.

  •  5 Star Review Maggie Watts 14th May 2021

    From the moment I spoke to Katie on the phone, I knew this was the right place to go. Extremely friendly, comforting, explained all our options for our Cousin David and what we knew would be suitable for his Cremation, and also the different prices for the option that suited our pockets and Davids wishes. Always at the end of the phone when needed.. I would highly recommend Katie Mills Independent Funeral Director, and her Team. Myself and my Husband have put our wishes to our family to use Katie. Also there is a beautiful Online Tribute Page to share your memories thoughts and photos. Excellent Service.

  •  5 Star Review Terence Sexton 13th Apr 2021

    Everything was carried out with great care and respect,I could not had asked for a more dignified farewell to my Linda

  •  5 Star Review Nick Heath 2nd Apr 2021

    Katie & Rob, along with Brian, the celebrant, provided an absolutely outstanding service. Throughout the whole process, they were there 24 hours a day when needed. They were calm and reassuring, came up with creative solutions to solve complicated family issues and, somehow, managed to make the day of the funeral a fond memory for all involved. I can’t ever thank them enough for their kindness and understanding in what has been such a sad time.  It felt like dealing with close family members rather than funeral directors and I highly recommend their service. 

  •  5 Star Review Aimee Terry 1st Apr 2021

    I’d like to thank Katie, Rob and Matilda for all of their help arranging and conducting my dads funeral service. Never having been in this sort of position before and not knowing what to do, I knew from the minute I stepped through the door that, Dad would be here, I can’t thank them enough for their professionalism, the care and love they put in for me and my two sisters. I know that Dad was in the best place, they put no pressure on me, there was no upfront costs which really helped my position, and were so kind from the first phone call. Everything was done so smoothly, the team looked great.  They put us at ease through a very traumatic time, they went above and beyond. I’ll never use anyone else again, they are all such lovely people and I would 100% recommend to anyone! Thank you so much for all of your help and compassion at this hard time. Love Aimee X

  •  5 Star Review Maureen Rooney 15th Mar 2021

    Brilliant service, Kate was outstanding like one of the family, Thanks again

  •  5 Star Review Teresa Polkinghorne 17th Feb 2021

    I would recommend this funeral company to anyone. They organized my dad's funeral a few years ago and my sons funeral just recently they were very compassionate also kept me updated concerning the funeral nothing was ever to much trouble for them. Teresa and kevin Polkinghorne

  •  5 Star Review Sian Dale 23rd Jan 2021

    Katie & Rob were so caring and provided a personal, professional and bespoke funeral for our father.   Nothing was too much trouble and    the attention to detail was  outstanding from the  very beginning right through to  the day of the funeral itself.  We would recommended  them 100%.  

  •  5 Star Review Jack Oliver 23rd Jan 2021

    Katie was unbelievably good, respectful and ensured we gave a wonderful send off to my aunt. She organised everything that was required and made you feel that nothing was too much. The prices were broken down and transparent with no hidden costs. She was extremely Covid aware during the day of the ceremony and ensured there was as little risk as possible. I could not recommend her more.

  •  5 Star Review Ellie Wright 14th Dec 2020

    Could not ask for better especially never having to do this before, Katie and Rob are amazing people and i cant not thank them enough for the service, time and the most amazing support every step of the way. Great business and people would  highly recommend as can not fault one single part of the process ,service and aftercare. Truly thankful for people like these guys.

  •  5 Star Review Paula Hislop 8th Dec 2020

    Katie & Rob supported me every step of the way, helping me to arrange my son's funeral with genuine compassion and understanding. Katie made sure she understood exactly what it was that I was looking for and made sure that was what I got. Nothing was too much trouble and at no time did I ever feel rushed, Katie made time just to sit and listen, when that was what I needed most. I would highly recommend Katie Mills Independent Funeral Service to anyone who needs such a service, you could not be in safer, more loving hands

  •  5 Star Review Emma Eales 3rd Dec 2020

    Katie and Rob are just wonderful I can honestly say I couldn't have got through this traumatic time without the continuous help and support from Katie and Rob. they truly went above and beyond and made it all so personable. loosing my mum was so difficult and organising her funeral on my own was so difficult on so may levels but the reassurance and guidance they provided me with pulled me through it, and i can not thank them enough. Katie and Rob are professional. personable. kind. thoughtful and extremely helpful. Thankyou for a beautiful farewell to my loving mum. I would recommend in a heart beat .

  •  5 Star Review Marie Jones 30th Nov 2020

    Makes you feel secure comforted very understanding to all your personal needs , excellent friendly people . Couldn't  do enough for me . They went above and beyond to meet my personal needs .fabulous service .Highly recommend .

  •  5 Star Review Louise Murphy 30th Nov 2020

    My family and I would truly thank Katie Mills for her dedicated care of Mr Robin Hayward. It is very refreshing to see and witness an Independant Funeral Directors ethics are genuine, in respect that they truly care for the deceased and the whole family. Their pricing policy is clear and concise with no hidden unnecessary charges or up-selling! Katie Mills and her team are kind and mindful people serving our local community at their greatest time of need. We highly recommended and will employ Katie's services again, but hopefully not too soon in the future!!

  •  5 Star Review Paul Moore 14th Nov 2020

    Very impressed at the personal service given by Katie Mills and her partner. A calm and relaxed desire to please at your pace with no pressure selling. Nice newly decorated offices and elegant viewing rooms. Willing to adapt, give options and alter arrangements without a fuss. On the day everything was perfect, professionally & smartly delivered and at a very reasonable price. An exemplar organisation that others can only hope to aspire to. I wish Katie every success for the future and have no hesitation in recommending.

  •  5 Star Review Zak Theobold 3rd Sep 2020

    Couldn't have asked for nicer people. Katie and Rob went above and beyond and made everything so much easier for us in such a difficult time. Cannot thank them enough for everything they did for our little Prince and us.

  •  5 Star Review George Russell 27th Aug 2020

    Katie and Rob were totally professional, sympathetic, respectful and above all else very approachable. They both helped us through the worst of times and in our opinion went the extra mile for us. All our mums wishes were carried out to the letter. We highly regard them and would recommend them to anyone who needs them.